Wednesday, 30 April 2008
Entertainment provided by a local bagpiper at a Scottish Castle. Scottish Castle Bagpipers on the best Scottish Tours.
Tour Scotland, on an Ancestry Tour of Scotland. Best Scottish Tours, Best Scottish Food, Best Scottish Hotels, Small Group Tours of Scotland.
Monday, 28 April 2008
Tour Scotland on the best Scottish Tours of Auchterarder. Auchterarder Graveyard, Perth and Kinross, Scotland. Auchterarder is situated in the Strathearn area of Perthshire, near the centre of mainland Scotland. Auchterarder in 1846, a town, the seat of a presbytery, and a parish, in the county of Perth, 54½ miles (N. W.) from Edinburgh; containing, with the villages of Borland-Park and Smithyhaugh, 3434 inhabitants, of whom 2068 are in the town. This place anciently belonged to the abbey of Inchaffray; and in 1328, the lands were granted, by charter of Robert Bruce, to Sir William Montifix, justiciary of Scotland, whose daughter and heiress conveyed them, by marriage, to Sir John Drummond, with whose descendants they remained till their forfeiture, by the participation of that family in the rebellion of 1715. During that period of distraction, the town was laid waste and burnt by the Pretender's army, under the Earl of Mar, in order to check the progress of the royal forces. For this injury, indemnification was promised to the inhabitants, by proclamation issued from the ancient palace of Scone, in 1716; but the only compensation they received was from the reigning family, to such of them as had not been concerned in the rebellion. The commissioners appointed to take charge of the forfeited estates, made a survey of the barony of Auchterarder, in 1778, by which it appears that the inhabitants were in a very distressed condition, on account of the backward state of agriculture and the want of employment, from which, however, they have been gradually rising; and since the purchase of the estate by Captain Hunter, the place has rapidly improved.
The town, which, upon disputed authority, is supposed to have been anciently a royal burgh, is situated on the turnpike-road from Glasgow to Perth, and consists chiefly of one street, more than a mile in length, in which are some well-built houses, and numerous others of inferior appearance, occupied by weavers and manufacturers. The inhabitants are amply supplied with pure water, from a copious spring, conveyed by pipes into their houses, mainly through the exertions of Captain Aytoun, in 1832; and a mechanics' institution, in which lectures were delivered during the winter months, formerly existed in the town. The chief trades are, the weaving of cotton for the manufacturers of Glasgow, in which more than 500 looms are in constant operation; and the making of shawls, blankets, and other articles of the woollen manufacture. There are two breweries for ale and beer in operation; and a branch of the Central Bank of Scotland, and a branch of the National Savings' Bank, have been established. The town is also adequately supplied with gas. A market is held on Saturday, and is well supplied with provisions and with grain, for which it is the principal mart of the district; and fairs are held on the last Tuesday in March, for grain; the Thursday after the last Tuesday in May, for cattle; the Fridays before the Falkirk trysts in August, September, and October, for cattle and horses; and the 6th of December, for cattle and general business. The post-office has a tolerable delivery, and facility of communication with Edinburgh, Glasgow, Perth, and Stirling, is maintained by good roads: a survey has been made by subscription, for the construction of a railway from Perth to Stirling, which, if carried into effect, will pass near the town.
The parish, which includes also the ancient parish of Aberuthven, united to it prior to the Reformation, is bounded on the north by the river Earn, and extends eight miles in length, from north to south, and three miles in breadth, from east to west, comprising 13,747 acres, of which 7176 are arable, about 300 acres woodland and plantations, and the remainder meadow, pasture, and waste. The surface is hilly, and rises from the banks of the Earn to the Ochils, of which the highest, Craig Rossie, 2359 feet above the level of the sea, is within the limits of the parish. The principal rivers are, the Earn, which rises in Loch Earn, and falls into the Tay, and the Ruthven, which, after receiving the waters of several rivulets descending from the Ochils, flows through the parish, and falls into the Earn: in the Earn are found salmon and large white and yellow trout, and in the Ruthven, a small species of trout, remarkable for the delicacy of its flavour. The soil, in the eastern part of the parish, is light and sandy; in the lower lands, a clayey loam; and in the neighbourhood of the town, a rich black loam; the chief crops are, oats, barley, wheat, potatoes, turnips, and peas, with the usual grasses. The system of husbandry has been greatly improved; much waste land has been reclaimed by embankment, from the overflowing of the Earn, and a considerable stimulus is afforded by the premiums awarded at an annual ploughingmatch, by the agricultural society of the parish. Cows of the Ayrshire breed are kept on the dairy-farms; the cattle on the pastures are generally the Teeswater, and on the lower lands, sheep of the Leicestershire breed have been introduced. The rateable annual value of the parish is £8600. The substrata are mostly of the old red sandstone formation, grey slate of good quality for roofing, and limestone, which, from the scarcity of fuel, is not much wrought; a search has been made for coal, but without success. There is little old wood now remaining; the plantations, which are principally of modern date, are chiefly larch and oak. Auchterarder House is a handsome mansion in the Elizabethan style, recently erected, and situated in grounds that have been greatly improved.
The ecclesiastical affairs are under the superintendence of the presbytery of Auchterarder and synod of Perth and Stirling; the minister's stipend is £199. 14. 2., with a manse, and a glebe valued at £17 per annum; patron, the Earl of Kinnoull. The church, rebuilt in 1784, and enlarged in 1811, is a plain structure, situated in the town, and containing 930 sittings. At Aberuthven, is the mausoleum of the Graham family, in which are several coffins containing the remains of departed dukes of Montrose, and in the vault beneath, have been interred many of their ancestors. There are places of worship for members of the Free Church, and of the Relief and United Secession Synods. The parochial school is well attended; the master has a salary of £34. 4. 4., with a house, and an allowance of £2 in lieu of a garden; the fees average about £40 per annum. There is also a school, for which a building was erected in 1811, by John Sheddan, Esq., who endowed it with £1000, the interest of which is paid to the master, on condition of his teaching twelve children gratuitously. To the north of the town, are the ruins of a building supposed to have been a hunting-seat of Malcolm Canmore; the walls, which are of great thickness, have been nearly demolished for building materials. Eastward of these ruins, are the remains of the ancient church of St. Mungo, formerly the parish church, the cemetery of which is still used as a place of sepulture by the parishioners; and in digging the foundation for the present church, a coin of the Emperor Titus Vespasian was found, in a very perfect state.
Tour Auchterarder, Perthshire, Scotland, on an Ancestry Tour of Scotland. Best Scottish Tours, Best Scottish Food, Best Scottish Hotels, Small Group Tours of Scotland. Rent a Cottage in Scotland. Tour Roman Scotland. Golf Scotland.
Sunday, 27 April 2008
Best Scottish Tours of Edradour. Edradour Distillery, near Pitlochry, Scotland. The last original 'farm' distillery in Perthshire, has free tours daily, with a free dram of whisky. If you have been to the Edradour distillery it is easy to understand why it is so popular with visitors. Being the smallest and most scenic distillery in Scotland it's a must for visitors on the Scottish whisky trail, or on any tour of Scotland.
Friday, 25 April 2008
Scottish National Monument. The National Monument, Edinburgh, is Scotland's memorial to those who died in the Napoleonic Wars. The monument is on the top of Calton Hill, just to the east of central Edinburgh. It was designed by Charles Robert Cockerell and his collaborator William Henry Playfair and is modelled upon the Parthenon in Athens.
The Scottish Vigil. The Cairn above located on Calton Hill, Edinburgh, Scotland, was built in 1998 by the keepers of the Vigil for a Scottish Parliament. The vigil began in April 1992 when the conservatives won a forth consecutive victory in the United Kingdom general election. The vigil ended 1980 days later when in September 1997 the Scottish people voted yes to a referendum for Scotland to have her own parliament. This began the process of Scotland's devolved status.
At the foot of the Cairn is a plaque with a quote from Hugh MacDiarmid:
For we ha'e faith
in Scotland's hidden poo'ers
The present's theirs
but a the past and future's oors
The cairn contains stones from locations important to Scotland's past, for example one from Robert Burns' house, one from Robert the Bruce's castle.
Thursday, 24 April 2008
Tour Scotland on the Best Scottish Tours of Storehouse of Foulis. Storehouse of Foulis, is located on the shore of the Cromarty Firth in the heart of Clan Munro country, Scotland. The building is a fully restored 18th Century, Storehouse with educational, history and wildlife exhibitions.
Tour Storehouse of Foulis, Scotland, on an Ancestry Tour of Scotland. Best Scottish Tours, Best Scottish Food, Best Scottish Hotels, Small Group Tours of Scotland. Rent a Cottage in Scotland.
Tuesday, 22 April 2008
Monday, 21 April 2008
Margaret Flora MacDonald Ancestry Tour of Scotland. This gravestone can be found in Dalmeny Churchyard, near Edinburgh, Scotland. Here rests, till the Lord come again, the redeemed dust of Margaret Flora MacDonald of Ormiston, Roxburghshire, the beloved wife of Robert Hugh Muir, Minister of this Parish.
Sunday, 20 April 2008
Saturday, 19 April 2008
Tour Scotland Auchtergaven Parish Churchyard, Bankfoot, Perthshire, Scotland. There has been a Church building in this location since the 10th Century. The present building, which was quite recently destroyed by fire, was the third on the site and was erected in 1812. Auchtergaven Parish was created in 1845.
Tour Auchtergaven, Perthshire, Scotland, on an Ancestry Tour of Scotland. Best Scottish Tours, Best Scottish Food, Best Scottish Hotels, Small Group Tours of Scotland. Rent a Cottage in Scotland. Tour Roman Scotland. Golf Scotland.
Friday, 18 April 2008
Tour Scotland Isle of Lewis. The essential guide for the discerning tourist and Scottish island devotee, the Pevensey Island Guide Lewis and Harris describes everything the visitor needs to know about the islands' heritage, landscape, climate, flora and fauna. It contains fascinating information on all the key places of interest, from areas of outstanding beauty such as the mountains, freshwater lochs and moorland to historical landmarks such as the Callanish stone circle. It is illustrated with over one hundred superb colour photographs showing every aspect of the island and its people. Lewis and Harris (Pevensey Island Guides) (Pevensey Island Guides).
The Western Isles have a significant and viable history stretching back two millennia. Settlers and visitors have come and gone but all have left a lasting mark on the landscape of today. Ancient stones stand as a silent witness to an intriguing past. Early Celtic churches are evidence of a strong faith which remains a deeply entrenched aspect of contemporary island life. Drawing on every source, from pre-historical artefacts to documentary evidence from the mid-16th to the 20th century, Francis Thompson offers an accessible insight into the unique island heritage of Lewis and Harris. Detailing the island clans, the monuments and the crofting way of life, he emphasises the importance of the landscape beneath. To walk a land is to know it and this is the book to take with you. Whether you visit Lewis and Harris or read the book first, the one will make you want to experience the other. Lewis and Harris: History and Pre-history on the Western Edge of Europe.
Poetic Tales from the Isle of Lewis. A collection of various tales relating to the Isle of Lewis. The inspiration for the tales is derived from the author's many conversations with different residents from the island. The tales vary from one page upto sixteen pages in length containing humour and also hidden depths. Some of the tales contain the unique three-in-one poems, which are only known to have been written by Colin Demet. The author's intention is to provide the reader with an enjoyable reading experience, while at the same time bringing hitherto unknown experiences, such as an insight into the thoughts and feelings of some of the characters in the tales. Poetic Tales from the Isle of Lewis (Poetic Tales From...).
North Minch and Isle of Lewis Imray C.Chart Map. North Minch and Isle of Lewis (Imray C.Chart).
West Lewis, Taobh Siar Leodhais Explorer Map. West Lewis/Taobh Siar Leodhais (Explorer Maps).
South East Lewis, Taobh an Eardheas Leodhais Explorer Map. South East Lewis/Taobh an Eardheas Leodhais (Explorer Maps).
Ancestry Tours of the Isle of Lewis. Isle of Lewis in 1846, an island in the Atlantic Ocean, partly in the county of Inverness, but chiefly in that of Ross and Cromarty; containing 21,466 inhabitants, of whom 4429 are in the portion in the county of Inverness. This island, which forms part of the series called Long Island, and is the largest of the Hebrides, or Western Isles, is separated from the main land of Ross and Cromarty by the channel of the Minch, and is about eightytwo miles in length, and from eleven to twelve miles in average breadth. It contains the parishes of Barvas, Lochs, Stornoway, and Uig in the north, and the parish of Harris in the south, the last being in the county of Inverness; and the whole comprises an area of nearly 700,000 acres. The surface is deeply indented with bays and inlets from the sea. Of these, the principal are, Seaforth on the east, and Loch Reasort on the west, which respectively bound the parish of Harris on the north-east and north-west; and East and West Tarbert, which, by still deeper indentations, almost divide that parish into two detached portions. The island is generally hilly, though the Harris district is more mountainous than the rest of Lewis, from which it is separated by a chain of very considerable height; towards the coast are some tracts of fertile land, but the aspect of the interior is for the most part frightfully dreary and barren. Numerous small streams, issuing from inland lakes, flow through the lower grounds into the sea. Several of them abound with trout and salmon; and the numerous lochs that indent the shores afford lucrative fisheries for herrings and for white-fish of all kinds. The eastern portion of the isle is in general appropriated to the grazing of sheep and black-cattle, of which considerable numbers are reared; in the western district are some small tracts of arable land, of which the soil is among the most fertile of the Hebrides. The system of agriculture, though slowly improving, is still in a very backward state; and the cottages are built chiefly of mud, and roofed with thatch, timber of every kind being extremely scarce. The coast in some parts is low and sandy, and in others abruptly steep and rocky; the bay of Stornoway affords convenient and safe anchorage, being well sheltered from all winds, and there are numerous other harbours. The principal inhabited islands off the coast are, Bernera, Pabbay, Scarp, Tarrinsay, Anabich, Ensay, Hermitray, Killigray, and Scalpa. At the Buffs of Lewis, or northern headland, is a colony of Danish origin, which has preserved its ancient character without the slightest assimilation to that of the other inhabitants, with whom they scarcely hold any intercourse, though speaking the Gaelic language in all its purity; they are engaged in the fisheries off the coast. There are some remains of forts, Druidical circles, cairns, upright stones, and other monuments of antiquity.—See the articles on the various parishes and islands.
Tour the Island Of Lewis, Scotland.
Best Scottish Tours of Airlie. Kirkton of Airlie Church, Strathmore, Angus, Scotland. Kirkton of Airlie Parish Church stands on a site where the Gospel has been preached for over 780 years and is dedicated to St Meddan, a Bishop, who was a follower of St Drostan along with St Fergus and St Colm around 520 A.D. The present Airlie Parish Church was completed in 1783. Airlie Castle, a seat of the Ogilvies is located nearby.
Airlie in 1846, a parish, in the county of Forfar, four miles from Kirriemuir; containing 868 inhabitants. The name of this place, written in ancient records Errolly, Erolly, Irolly, and Airlie, is altogether of uncertain derivation, but is supposed, by some, to come from the Gaelic term Aird, signifying the "extremity of a ridge," which description is applicable to the locality of Airlie Castle. The parish is situated at the western extremity of the county, bordering on Perthshire, and measures, in extreme length, 6 miles, from east to west; and the breadth varies from ½ a mile to 4 miles; the whole comprising 8600 acres, of which 6848 are cultivated, 1365 under wood, and 387 in pasture, waste, &c. The southern part of the district lies in the vale of Strathmore, from which the land rises towards the north, in a succession of undulated ridges, forming a portion of the braes of Angus, and the southern Grampians. In this direction, the Isla pours its waters through a deep rocky gorge, out of the higher into the lower country; and the ravine, separating at Airlie Castle into two channels, makes courses, respectively, for the Isla and Melgum streams. The scenery about this spot is highly picturesque, and is, to a great extent, indebted for its attractions to the romantic Den of Airlie, extending for above a mile from the confluence of the two streams. The pellucid stream of the Isla, sweeping in some places over a rocky channel, pursues its winding course among the thickly-wooded and precipitous braes; and the pleasing landscape in this part is completed by the interesting feature of the Kirktown, situated about 1½ mile south-east from the castle, and less than a mile east of the river. All the streams are famed for their abundance of fine trout, and are the favourite resorts of anglers; the Isla and Melgum are also much visited by salmon. In the Dean is found the fresh-water muscle, often mistaken for the pearl oyster, common in the South Esk, and some of the rivers are frequented by numerous migratory birds, some of them being of very rare species.
The soil runs through the several varieties of brown and black loam; in the better portion of the district, and in the northern part, it is a thin and barren earth, on a tilly subsoil, requiring much furrow-draining and deep ploughing to render it profitable. There are also many gravelly, sandy, and clayey admixtures, in different places, some of which, if allowed to remain long in grass, become overspread with broom; but, though much of the land is either very poor or only of moderate fertility, there are some rich tracts, particularly a long and broad strip of deep alluvial loam, along the whole course of the Dean river. The agriculture of the parish has been greatly improved since the beginning of the present century, and deep and extensive drains have been constructed; furrow-draining, by tiles and stones, has been practised, and shell-marl is much used as manure. The number of sheep and cattle, and the superiority of the breeds, furnish a striking contrast to the state of the district, in these respects, about thirty years since, most of the thinner soils being now covered with flocks of native black-faced sheep, besides regular stocks of Leicesters, in other parts; and in addition to the Angus, a very fine description of cattle is seen on several of the larger farms, which is often crossed with the Teeswater. Since the introduction of steam navigation, large quantities have been sent to London, in addition to those sold at Edinburgh and Glasgow, and they obtain the highest prices.
The strata consist entirely of the old red sandstone, with the exception of a trap-dike crossing the channel of the Isla, near Airlie Castle. The upper beds are in general too friable for use, crumbling almost as soon as they are exposed to the air, but those at a considerable depth are of tenacious consistence, and, having several varieties of fine and coarse grain, are capable of being applied to many purposes. Most of the rocks are overlaid with debris of different depths, and above are usually beds of sand and gravel; at Baikie is a bed of marl, once covering 40 acres, and six or seven yards deep, but which has been much exhausted for agricultural use, and there are also extensive mosses, in which horns of deer and oxen have been found. Many plantations have been formed in the present century, comprising the usual trees; but they are, to a great extent, in a pining state, especially the larch, very many of which have been entirely destroyed by blight and canker. Airlie Castle, a plain modern residence, situated at the north-western point of the parish, on a lofty precipice, is the property of the family of Ogilvy, who became connected with the parish in 1458, when Sir John Ogilvy, of Lintrathen, received a grant of the barony from King James II. One side of the ancient castle only remains, the rest having been burnt down by the Earl of Argyll, in the year 1640, during the absence of the Earl of Airlie, a zealous supporter of the royal cause, which event is celebrated in the popular ballad entitled "Bonnie house of Airlie." Lindertis House is a handsome edifice, of recent date, beautifully situated on the northern slope of Strathmore, and commanding fine views of an extensive range of country. A considerable number of the inhabitants of the parish are engaged in weaving coarse linens for Dundee houses; several public roads, leading to most of the great thoroughfares, pass through the place, and the railway from Newtyle to Glammis passes along the southern border. The parish is in the presbytery of Meigle and synod of Angus and Mearns, and in the patronage of the Earl of Strathmore; the minister's stipend is £219. 1. 5., with a manse, and a glebe of 9 acres valued at £12 per annum. The church is a very neat edifice, rebuilt in 1781, and repaired in 1844. A Free Church place of worship has been recently erected. The parochial school-master has a salary of £34. 4. 4., with a house, and £13 fees. Near Cardean, are the remains of a Roman camp, and also of the great Roman road which ran from this spot, along the valley of Strathmore.
Tour Aberdeen, Tour Edinburgh, Tour Glasgow, Tour Inverness, Ancestry Tour of Scotland. Best Scottish Tours, Best Scottish Food, Best Scottish Hotels, Small Group Tours of Scotland, Rent a Cottage in Scotland.
Thursday, 17 April 2008
David Ferguson Ancestry Tour of Scotland. This gravestone can be found in Moonzie Cemetery, Fife, Scotland. Erected by David Ferguson, Merchant in Cupar, in memory of his father, David Ferguson, who died 1th May, 1843.
Tour Moonzie, Fife, Scotland, on an Ancestry Tour of Scotland. Best Scottish Tours, Best Scottish Food, Best Scottish Hotels, Small Group Tours of Scotland, Rent a Cottage in Scotland. Golf Scotland.
Wednesday, 16 April 2008
Charles Cargill Ancestry Tour of Scotland. This gravestone can be found in Rattray Churchyard, Blairgowrie and Rattray, Perthshire, Scotland. Erected by George Cargill, Merchant, New Rattray, in memory of his beloved father, Charles Cargill, who died 20th June, 1868, aged 66 years.
Tuesday, 15 April 2008
Best Scottish Tours of Rattray Parish Churchyard, Blairgowrie and Rattray, Perthshire, Scotland. Rattray in 1846, a parish, in the county Perth, one mile from Blairgowrie, containing, with the villages of Old and New Rattray, 1918 inhabitants, of whom 447 are in the former, and 580 in the latter, village. This place lays claim to a considerable degree of antiquity, and is supposed to have derived its name, of which the etymology is uncertain, from the family of Rattray, by whom, according to records yet extant, it appears to have been possessed prior to the year 1066, and whose descendants are still the principal proprietors. Of the castle of Rattray, the original seat of that family, there are some remains on the hill of Rattray, a spacious oblong eminence to the south-east of the village, rounded at the eastern extremity, and on the summit of which the ruins form a pleasingly romantic object, conveying an adequate idea of its original grandeur. During the frequent intestine wars which subsisted between the rival factions in the reigns of some of the Scottish kings, the family, not thinking themselves secure in the castle of Rattray from the incursions of their enemies, removed to the castle of Craighall, about two miles north-west of the village, and which since that period has continued to be their residence. The inhabitants were formerly noted for the celebration of various sports, of which the most general were curling, archery, and the game called the "long ball;" and there were, till the year 1745, preserved in the parish, a silver curling-stone, a silver arrow, and a silver ball, which were severally awarded as prizes to the successful competitors in these respective games. Any parish in Scotland might contest with the people of Rattray for the prize in these games, which always took place within the parish; and the successful candidate was bound to restore the prize he had obtained, previously to the next annual celebration. The curlingstone and the arrow were lost during the time of the rebellion; but the silver ball, which has been contested for within the present century, is still in the possession of Alexander Whitson, of Parkhill.
The parish comprises a part of the vale of Strathmore, and is bounded on the west and on the south by the river Ericht, which separates it from the parish of Blairgowrie. Including a widely detached portion of it, which lies on the confines of Forfarshire, it is about six miles and a half in extreme length and nearly two miles in mean breadth; comprising about 6500 acres, of which 4500 are arable, 450 woodland and plantations, and the remainder moor and waste. The surface towards the south, for some breadth along the banks of the river, is tolerably level; but towards the north it increases in elevation till it nearly reaches the village, beyond which it rises by steep acclivities into rugged and precipitous hills, forming part of the chain which, some miles beyond the limits of the parish, terminates in the Grampian range. The only river connected with the parish is the Ericht, which has its source in some springs issuing from the Grampian hills, and, flowing southward, receives the waters of the Ardle, a considerable mountain stream from the north-west. After this, passing the mansion of Craighall, and taking an eastern course, it bounds the parish on the south, and about two miles off falls into the Isla near Coupar-Angus, and flows in conjunction with that river into the Tay. The Ericht in the winter often overflows its banks, and after rains in the autumn, also, sometimes inundates the adjacent lands, occasioning much damage to the crops; it abounds with trout, affording good sport to the angler, and salmon are found in it during the season. In its course, which is rapid, it forms the beautiful cascade of Keith, where the water, obstructed by a rock, falls into a pool beneath, on which is a salmon-fishery belonging to Lord Wharncliffe. The general scenery, from the variety of the surface and the belts of wood and plantations scattered over it, is pleasingly diversified; and from the numerous hills are obtained some fine prospects over the fertile vale of Strathmore and the surrounding country.
The soil on the hills and uplands is thin, cold, and moorish, and in the lower parts dry and gravelly; but, though in some places encumbered with loose stones, it is generally fertile, producing favourable crops of oats, barley, and wheat, with potatoes and turnips, and the usual grasses. In the higher parts is a common of about 300 acres, called the Broad Moss, fit only for cutting turf for fuel. The system of husbandry is improved, but there is little in the parish to require agricultural notice; the majority of the farms are of very moderate extent, and those on the higher lands are employed mainly for the pasture of cattle and sheep. The cattle are of the Strathmore and Angus breeds, with a mixture of the Teeswater; they are mostly bought in at the neighbouring fairs, and when two or three years old are fed for the butcher, or sold to dealers who send them to the Glasgow market. The plantations consist chiefly of larch and Scotch fir; they are under careful management, and are regularly thinned, and the produce sold for fuel. Along the river are coppices of oak, which is cut down at a proper age, principally for the bark, which yields a profitable return. The rocks on the banks of the Ericht, near Craighall, rise perpendicularly to the height of 200 feet, and are of rugged and formidable appearance; they consist of enormous masses of whinstone, which have never been wrought for any purpose. The ascent to the summit, even where least precipitous, is difficult and dangerous; and a few trees only have been planted on the surface. Craighall, the seat of Robert Clerk Rattray, is a spacious castellated mansion, romantically situated on the summit of one of these rocks, 214 feet in height, overhanging the river, and commanding from the drawing-room windows an extensive view of the singularly impressive scenery of the adjacent country, marked with features of wild sublimity and romantic grandeur. This venerable mansion, of which the original date is not known, is accessible only from the south; it was internally remodelled by the late Baron Rattray, who added also, to the front, two turrets at the angles, corresponding in character to those which flank the entrance gateway in the centre. Parkhill is a handsome modern mansion, beautifully situated on the brow of a hill to the north of the village, and embracing a richly diversified prospect over the picturesque and fertile vale of Strathmore.
The village of Old Rattray, which is evidently a place of considerable antiquity, is irregularly built on the southern declivity of a hill, and has greatly increased within the present century, from the facilities of water-power afforded by the river, over which, some miles above the village, a bridge has been constructed by Colonel Sir W. Chalmers. This bridge, which affords communication between the portions of that gentleman's lands on both sides of the stream, consists of a horizontal platform of iron, supported by pillars of stone at each extremity, and is of sufficient breadth for a carriageroad, and a footpath on each side of it. New Rattray is neatly built, extending along the road to Blairgowrie, and is nearly contiguous to the village of Old Rattray; it was commenced in 1809, and from the pleasantness of the scenery, and the healthfulness of its situation, is a favourite resort for invalids from various parts, for whose accommodation there is an excellent inn. The linen manufacture is carried on to a very considerable extent. There are not less than eight mills for the spinning of flax, which are driven by water-wheels of from eight to twenty horse power, and afford employment to 650 persons, inhabitants of the villages. In one of these mills, called the Erichtside mill, are also sixty-seven power-looms constantly employed in the weaving of linen cloths of various qualities; and almost all of the inhabitants of the parish, when not engaged in agricultural pursuits, are occupied in hand-loom weaving at their own dwellings for the houses of Dundee. The handicraft trades requisite for the supply of the district are also carried on in the villages, in which there are a few shops. Fairs, chiefly for the sale of cattle, are held on the last Fridays in April and August, on a common to the west of the village, and are in general numerously attended. Letters are received daily from the post-office of Blairgowrie, in the immediate vicinity; and facility of communication is maintained by the military road to Fort-George, by Braemar, which passes through the parish, and by the turnpike-road to Alyth and Kirriemuir. The rateable annual value of Rattray is £5229. The ecclesiastical affairs are under the superintendence of the presbytery of Dunkeld and synod of Perth and Stirling. The minister's stipend is £157. 9. 2., of which nearly onehalf is paid from the exchequer; with a manse, and a glebe valued at £25 per annum: patron, the Earl of Kinnoull. The church, built in 1820, to replace the ancient church, which had fallen into decay, is a substantial and handsome structure with a square tower, and contains 620 sittings. There are also places of worship for members of the Free Church and United Secession. The parochial school, situated near the church, in the village of Old Rattray, is attended by about sixty children; the master receives a salary of £34. 4. 4. per annum, with a house, and the school fees average £15. On an eminence half a mile to the east of the village, and also on another about a mile to the north of it, are the remains of a Druidical circle. Near the former were lately discovered in a field of hard gravel, two deep trenches in the form of a crescent with the horns towards the east, having the sides formed with rough stones, and covered with large flags of whinstone, and containing earth of a dark colour intermixed with fragments of burnt bones. There was also till within the last few years, to the east of the village, a large cairn of earth and stones in alternate layers, the base of which covered about half an acre; every layer of earth contained a mixture of burnt bones and wood, and in the centre of the cairn was found a stone coffin holding half-calcined bones and a warlike weapon nearly resembling a dagger.
Monday, 14 April 2008
Alexander Bonthrone Ancestry Tour of Scotland. This gravestone can be found in Auchtermuchty Graveyard, Fife, Scotland. Alexander Bonthrone, Brewer, Auchtermuchty. Died 29th July 1829, aged 66.
Fife 1851 Census Name Index. Parish of Auchtermuchty. Fife 1851 Census Name Index: Parish of Auchtermuchty.
Tour Parish of Auchtermuchty, Fife, Scotland, on an Ancestry Tour of Scotland. Best Scottish Tours, Best Scottish Food, Best Scottish Hotels, Small Group Tours of Scotland, Rent a Cottage in Scotland. Golf Scotland.
Parish of Auchtermuchty, Fife, Scotland. PARISH OF AUCHTERMUCHTY FIFE, SCOTLAND.
Saturday, 12 April 2008
Friday, 11 April 2008
Scottish Hidden Treasures. Scotland, Landmarks, Landscapes and Hidden Treasures. Scotland, with its unrivalled landscapes and long, colourful history, has something to offer everybody. This great new book captures the beauty and magnificence of the country's best, and least known landscapes, from places as diverse as the Isle of Lewis to Kelso Abbey in the Borders. Fascinating text alongside evocative pictures and the desirable, chunky format make this an ideal gift for any lover of Scotland and travel in general. Scotland: Landmarks, Landscapes and Hidden Treasures (Undiscovered Places): Landmarks, Landscapes and Hidden Treasures (Undiscovered Places).
Discovering Edinburgh, Illustrated Map. Edinburgh, home to the Scottish parliament, is on the itinerary of many visitors to Scotland. This brand new edition retains the delightful water-colour mapping, with individual paintings of all the main sights and landmarks. Popular areas at larger scale, hundreds of shops, restaurants, cafes and bars, comprehensive travel information and index. Includes: Large-scale plans of the Castle, Royal Mile, Botanic Gardens, Leith and Newington. Shop by shop street maps of Princes Street, George Street, Victoria Street and the Grassmarket. Railway stations, bus routes, taxi ranks and car parks. Historical and contemporary anecdotes. Suggestions for day trips out of the city. Discovering Edinburgh: Illustrated Map.
Flower of Scotland Roy Williamson, My Father. This is Karen Williamson's own very personal view of her father and of life with fame and The Corries, based on memories from her childhood onwards as well as of others, with a foreward by Ronnie Browne. "Flower of Scotland" - Roy Williamson, My Father.
A Gallus Collection of Scottish Words. The Little Book of Scotland is a gallus collection of words of wit and wisdom by and about the Scotland football team's players, managers and officials from the Wembley Wizards to Alex McLeish's Euro 2008 campaigners. The book will contain over 150 brave-hearted football quotes. Each quotation will be dated and attributed to its source and, where appropriate, entries will be accompanied by explanatory asides and/or supporting statistics. The sayings will appear in no particular order, but where connections and themes emerge these will be taken into account. The Little Book of Scotland.
Best Scottish Touring Map 2008. This popular Scottish touring map has a huge amount of detail with places of tourist interest plotted and named on the map. Fully updated in 2008. Clear, easy to follow road map with colour classified roads. The attractive hill shading shows the shape of the Scottish landscape and hundreds of places of tourist interest have been plotted and named on the map. There is an index to both place names and places of tourist interest. Distances between places indicated in miles. Scottish Tourist information centres shown. Includes the whole of Scotland on a double sided sheet at 5 miles to 1 inch. Orkney's, Shetlands and the Western Isles at smaller scale. This best selling Scottish map contains everything for the holiday maker who wishes to explore this beautiful country. Touring Map Scotland (Touring Map).
Scottish Royal Mile. The Royal Mile is Edinburgh's most famous thoroughfare stretching from Edinburgh Castle in the west to the Palace of Holyroodhouse in the east. In between lies a wealth of history. This informative, illustrated guide brings the story of this ancient, atmospheric street vividly to life. A guide to one of Edinburgh's most famous thoroughfares, stretching from the Castle in the west to the Palace of Holyroodhouse in the east. It tells the story of this street. The Royal Mile.
Tour Aberdeen, Tour Edinburgh, Tour Glasgow, Tour Inverness, Ancestry Tour of Scotland. Best Scottish Tours, Best Scottish Food, Best Scottish Hotels, Small Group Tours of Scotland, Rent a Cottage in Scotland.
The Guynd. A Scottish Journal. The author describes her life married to a Scottish laird and dealing with a grand but crumbling Georgian mansion, troublesome tenants, and an intractable class system. The Guynd: A Scottish Journal.
Best Scottish Garden Plants. Garden Plants for Scotland. Scotland is one of the best places in the world to garden. Its maritime climate, ample rainfall, and the rarity of severe droughts and really hot weather mean that huge numbers of plants grow well there. But the climate varies considerably, from the colder, wetter, windier mountainous areas to the west coast where tender plants can be grown outdoors all year round, and choosing plants that are suited to the local conditions is critical to success. Kenneth Cox and Raoul Curtis-Machin have evaluated the performance of thousands of plants in gardens all over Scotland, drawing on the knowledge and experience of many gardeners and nurserymen, and in this book they describe, with over 800 photographs, the most reliable shrubs, conifers, trees, fruit and perennials for Scotland. In this book Scottish gardeners will find accurate information and hundreds of great plants ideally suited to where they live. Garden Plants for Scotland.
Scottish Whisky Dream. Whisky Dream. One Man's Battle to Resurrect an Islay Jewel. The extraordinary story of one man's dream to raise from the dead not one, but two of Islay's most cherished malts. After a hard-fought battle, former wine merchant Mark Reynier, together with old business partner Simon and masterblender Jim McEwan reopened Bruichladdich in 2001 after seven years of silent mash-tuns. Their astonishing journey involved scrapes with a top secret MOD submarine, U.S. military satellites, the CIA, faceless multinationals, patronising bank staff, supply problems, all-new international sales and distribution network, and an eleventh hour, GBP7.5 million bank loan. Port Charlotte Distillery, closed its doors on Islay in 1929, exactly a century after its foundation, as a direct result of a major downturn in the whisky industry, caused by Prohibition in the United States, becoming nothing more than a windswept ruin.Not happy with achieving what even their families and close friends told them was impossible with Bruichladdich, and after declaring that he would never, ever, ever do this again, Mark set his sights on the traumatic challenge of, indeed, doing it all over again with Port Charlotte.
More than anything, however, this is the story of the islanders themselves, The Ileach: their resourcefulness, their stubbornness, their ancient ability to triumph over adversity. This is what brought, and will bring, both Bruichladdich and Port Charlotte distilleries back from the grave. Whisky Dream: One Man's Battle to Resurrect an Islay Jewel.
The Weir Group. The History of a Scottish Engineering Legend, 1871-2006. In 1871, two brothers, George and James Weir, founded the engineering firm of G. & J. Weir, one of a booming range of industry on the west coast of Scotland. At their Cathcart works in Glasgow, the Weirs produced their own groundbreaking inventions, all crucial to the development of steam ships at that time. Today, 130 turbulent years later, the Weir Group is almost the last of those once-flourishing companies still to retain its independence and its Scottish base. Over the intervening century, Weirs manufactured pumps and valves for ships' engines around the world, oil pipelines and desalination plants, armaments, in the two world wars, and heavy equipment for power stations. Along the way, it was briefly involved in autogiros, the precursor of the helicopter. Rooted in the inventiveness and determination of the Victorian manufacturing age, Weirs adapted to the changing world of the twentieth century, determined always to diversify, win overseas contracts, build partnerships and above all survive. This fascinating story is told by William Weir, a past chairman and chief executive of the company. Combining reminiscence and colourful anecdote with cool analysis of the company's triumphs and failures, this is an unusual company history and an invaluable record of a Scottish engineering legend. The Weir Group: The History of a Scottish Engineering Legend, 1871-2006.
Scottish Rhymes. Katie's Coo. Scots Rhymes for Wee Folk. Katie Bairdie had a coo, Black and white aboot the mou. Wasna that a dainty coo? Dance, Katie Bairdie. Mini Katie's Coo is the compact format of Itchy Coo's popular first publication specially for babies and very young children, Katie's Coo, a delightful board book illustrated in full colour throughout and containing some much-loved traditional Scots rhymes along with a few that are less well known. Parents and grandparents will enjoy singing or chanting the words to babies and toddlers while the bairns will love the combination of Scots words and sounds with the bright and simple illustrations by award-winning artist Karen Sutherland. Rhymes featured include favourites like "The Three Craws", "Katie Bairdie", "Wee Willie Winkie" and "Ally Bally Bee". Mini Katie's Coo: Scots Rhymes for Wee Folk.
Scottish Myth and History. The Invention of Scotland. Myth and History. This book argues that while Anglo-Saxon culture has given rise to virtually no myths at all, myth has played a central role in the historical development of Scottish identity. Trevor-Roper explores three myths across 400 years of Scottish history: the political myth of the 'ancient constitution' of Scotland; the literary myth, including Walter Scott as well as Ossian and ancient poetry; and the sartorial myth of tartan and the kilt, invented, ironically by Englishmen, in quite modern times. Trevor-Roper reveals myth as an often deliberate cultural construction used to enshrine a people's identity. While his treatment of Scottish myth is highly critical, indeed debunking, he shows how the ritualisation and domestication of Scotland's myths as local colour diverted the Scottish intelligentsia from the path that led German intellectuals to a dangerous myth of racial supremacy. This compelling script was left unpublished on Trevor-Roper's death in 2003 and is now made available for the first time. Written with characteristic elegance, lucidity and wit, and containing defiant and challenging opinions, it will absorb and provoke Scottish readers and intrigue many others. The Invention of Scotland: Myth and History.